QEEQ
Get App-Only US$60 Coupon Package!
Scan to download App
Home Locations Cities and States
  • Best price car rental

  • Rental Locations

  • Reviews

  • Airports

  • Landmarks

Best price car rentals in Queenstown

Last updated on: April 5, 2020

24 Car Rental Brands in Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand

46Rental Locations

31Airport Locations

  • Hertz
  • Europcar
  • AVIS
  • Budget
  • APOLLO
  • Ezi
  • Alamo
  • National
  • Apex
  • AERODRIVE
  • Thrifty
  • Firefly
  • A Rentals
  • Pure Discovery
  • Discount Car Rentals
  • Dollar
  • Keddy by Europcar
  • OTS
  • NZI
  • ACE Rental Cars
  • EZU
  • Eco
  • HITCH Car Rentals
  • Yes Rentals
  • Address: 111 Glenda Dr, Frankton, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
    Telephone: +64 2102614444 / +64 2102614444
  • Address: 18 Glenda Dr, Frankton, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
    Telephone: +64 034414926 / +64 034414926

Map View of Car Rental Locations in Queenstown

Customer Reviews of Car Rentals

  • Apex

    8.4/10

  • Alamo

    7.9/10

  • ACE Rental Cars

    8.5/10

  • EZU

    5.8/10

  • Thrifty

    9.3/10

  • A Rentals

    9.6/10

  • KOOCAR

    7.7/10

  • HITCH Car Rentals

    7.1/10

  • Discount Car Rentals

    7.1/10

  • Budget

    8.9/10

  • Hertz

    7.4/10

  • NU Car

    4.2/10

  • SNAP RENTALS

    7.2/10

  • Yes Rentals

    6.0/10

  • Dollar

    8.1/10

  • AERODRIVE

    9.7/10

  • Europcar

    8.0/10

  • Enterprise

    10.0/10

  • Ezi

    9.9/10

    • K.Agrawal

      Queenstown

      2/10 Poor

      Reviewed: March 26, 2020

      Due to Covid-19 we had to leave for Auckland from Queenstown on 20th morning. We asked them for a refund of the remaining days to which they refused also when also asked for q courtesy car just for 2 hours they refused. We aren't happy with the service provider. I request for a refund for the remaining 3 days.

      Read More >
    • T.Koh

      Queenstown

      7.7/10 Good

      Reviewed: March 18, 2020

      Pick up at Queenstown Airport was smooth. Slightly further away from the airport but not too difficult to find. Return at Christchurch Airport was very fast as the lady did a quick check and everything was ok. They also offer complimentary drop-off to the airport

      Read More >
    • J.Travis

      Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: March 5, 2020

      Apex is great.

      Read More >
    • A.Hodge

      Queenstown

      6.7/10 Average

      Reviewed: March 4, 2020

      The counter staff at Apex was unhelpful, rude and very short with us. She didn't check the car with us, just told us where it was. The car we received was from 2011, the bumper was dislodged and had to be snapped back into place, the inside panel casing around the seatbelt repeatedly had to be pushed back together. The radio in the car would not connect to my phone.

      Read More >
    • W.Dickin

      Queenstown

      7.3/10 Good

      Reviewed: February 18, 2020

      Everything good except ease of use of navigation device hired

      Read More >
    • P.Cresswell

      Queenstown

      7.7/10 Good

      Reviewed: March 23, 2020

      Pleased with the good cost of car

      Read More >
    • K.LARDIZABAL

      Queenstown

      9.3/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: May 27, 2019

      Excellent customer service! however, the car given is a suzuki and is smaller than a Hyundai Accent.

      Read More >
    • A.El-Deek

      Queenstown

      7.7/10 Good

      Reviewed: May 21, 2019

      Service and staff were very helpful, the car had lots of issues and concerns!

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      7/10 Good

      Reviewed: May 16, 2019

      I was expecting to get Hyundai accent, but they gave me a compact Suzuki. But overall great experience.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      7.3/10 Good

      Reviewed: March 22, 2020

      返却後、空港へのシャトルバンがなかなか出発せず、店舗に着いてから空港に着くまで30分以上かかった。

      Read More >
    • TH.WONG

      Queenstown

      8.7/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: February 6, 2020

      When drop off car was a little bit long time for guest.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      9/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: January 31, 2020

      The car exceed my expectations as I rent a Yaris and ended up with a Corolla. Customer service was great

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: January 9, 2020

      The photo of the car booked was a later model but the car provided on the day was considerable old.

      Read More >
    • M.Schneider

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: January 6, 2020

      We had a wonderful experience with ACE Rentals. Quick and straightforward process, vehicle in excellent condition and the staff super friendly and helpful.

      Read More >
    • J.Hardman

      Queenstown

      9/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: March 21, 2020

      Got what I wanted, need a 4x4 in NZ so worked well

      Read More >
    • J.Frary

      Queenstown

      6.7/10 Average

      Reviewed: March 4, 2020

      Long wait for ca.

      Read More >
    • C.Kumar

      Queenstown

      3.3/10 Poor

      Reviewed: August 17, 2019

      It was a very pathetic experience with EZU. There was an incident with the GPS for which I paid $40 cash and just didn’t get a chance to use it because the GPS dropped and screen cracked. I informed Grace of EZU that this has happen the very first day and upon returning the vehicle I was told by Frank of EZU that I will be charged $300. I told Frank that I won’t be paying a single cent because it was not my fault the the GPS fell down as it was installed on the glass by EZU employee. I should get a refund of $40 as I was not able to use the GPS at all and informed Grace on a good faith. I used my mobile for navigation for the entire trip. Also I got a vehicle which had scratch and informed EZU of the same before driving the car off their drive away and the response from EZU is that we are aware of the same.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      2/10 Poor

      Reviewed: August 15, 2019

      EZU tried to cheat the airport by picking us up outside of the authorised pick up zone. They asked us to lie and pretend we were 'friends' to doge the pickup fee they had to pay. We cancelled on the spot. They have received an official warning from the airport.

      Read More >
    • R.kennedy

      Queenstown

      5.7/10 Average

      Reviewed: August 7, 2019

      The fact we are not getting the $1500 bond back for a month is disgusting. The snow chains provided were too big and the staff member who checked us in could bearly speak English which meant we didn’t understand alot of what was said. We also purchased insurance and were then told that regardless of the insurance if anything happened to the car we were liable.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: March 15, 2020

      Counter staff for pick up was very good and helpful.

      Read More >
    • J.Harris

      Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 19, 2020

      Great car and service from the thrifty team. Was very happy

      Read More >
    • Elaikha Zahar

      Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 9, 2020

      The car’s alignment was bad and we realised it on the 2nd day itself. I called to see if we could change the car. And they told me to call again the next day and the next day. For 3 days straight I called but had to explain the situation to 3 different people and there was no record of me putting the initial request. We went there on the 4th day only to realize we could have easily exchange it if we’ve brought the car in immediately and request for a technical check. This was not mentioned to me from the 1st-3rd call.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: November 24, 2019

      the car i hired was supposed to be a toyota Rav 4 however i always seem to get "the OR Similar vehicle'' in my case a Mitsubish,i when i order in advance i expect to get the vehicle i request. Only Gripe on an otherwise enjoyable experience

      Read More >
    • B.Jaishi

      Queenstown

      9.3/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: September 15, 2019

      Car was not ready on time, I waited for about 20 minutes

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      8.7/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: March 14, 2020

      great staff

      Read More >
    • D.Cleaver

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 25, 2020

      Very friendly customer service. 100% recommend again

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 23, 2020

      Eli was very professional, friendly and helpful! I highly recommend their services.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      7.3/10 Good

      Reviewed: March 10, 2020

      今回クイーンズタウンで借りクライストチャーチでドロップオフ。「〇〇レンタカー」など社名の入った車でピックアップしていただけるとわかり易いがスタッフとの合流に時間がかかりすぎた。

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      8/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: January 19, 2019

      The staff member at KOOCAR was very nice, but did not know the terms of the rental agreement e.g. insurance for extra drivers etc. This was unhelpful as we wanted to add extra drivers, but ended up not doing this as we couldn't get clarity from him on whether they would be covered by the insurance.

      Read More >
    • Sl

      Queenstown

      8/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: February 29, 2020

      Ok

      Read More >
    • KimP

      Queenstown

      7.7/10 Good

      Reviewed: February 12, 2020

      Everything about the car was fine and collection was super easy, staff were very lovely but there were no staff anywhere in the office when I returned the car which lead to me missing my flight. I was calling the office to try get help finding the drop off location and then had to just wait for someone to return to leave the car and get the shuttle to the airport.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      6.3/10 Average

      Reviewed: November 25, 2019

      Asked for a large SUV which we received however, the car didn't have a working radio with Bluetooth (it had an aftermarket radio). Told them we had to switch vehicles as we weren't going to use a car with no working radio in 2019. The staff were accommodating and advised we could swap for a car that had radio the following day, although it wasn't a 4WD. Annoying to have to go through this process but the staff was friendly.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      5.7/10 Average

      Reviewed: August 27, 2019

      The pick up process was unorganised and rushed. The interior of the car was clean, however the car had a significant amount of dents already. There was no snow chains available. Charged $12 for shuttle from airport- this should be complimentary.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      8.3/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: August 20, 2019

      Solid car, with quality AA service offering. Ran well and was clean and tidy. Van service pickup was easy, but because 3 renters in van, we then repeated a lot of information 1 by 1 at desk. Could fill this in online or on way to yard. Put a bigger sign on Rd to find for dropoff

      Read More >
    • S.Ramineni

      Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 24, 2020

      The car was old one but was in very good condition. I had a chat with one of the guys while they were dropping to the airport and he informed they are replacing all old cars with new ones in coming few months. No complaints.

      Read More >
    • F.Wallis

      Queenstown

      5.3/10 Average

      Reviewed: January 21, 2020

      I ordered the car as per the picture on the website - which was a relatively new Toyata Rav4. What I got was a 10 year old Nissan Dualis with 164k kms. This is false advertising. I argued with the manager on the day and he wouldnt budge. I laid a compalint the next day on line (chat), as this car was rubbish and too small. I argued with him again for 20 minutes. After 2 hours he agreed to swap another customers 2017 Rav4 with the car I had. I had to drive througfh Queesntown (2 hours) to swap it. Bad experience all round.

      Read More >
    • N.Somani

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: January 12, 2020

      Very good service

      Read More >
    • M.Yasodharan

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: October 28, 2019

      it was my first experience though.. i felt very good.. i would definitely recommend discount car rentals to all my friends visiting nz. cheers

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      5/10 Average

      Reviewed: August 26, 2019

      We booked what we thought would be a 'Toyota Yaris or similar' but got a Nissan Tiida that had done 195,000km. Not what we were expecting at all.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 24, 2020

      The car is in excellent condition and drive smoothly

      Read More >
    • J.RINCON ROMERO

      Queenstown

      5.7/10 Average

      Reviewed: January 9, 2020

      Terrible experience for dropping off the car. Staff was not present at drop off location at business hours. And the person that received the keys at the car park did not make a proper inspection and did not provide paperwork to ensure smooth hand-over. Now they claim that the windshield is cracked despite of the fact that we have comprehensive proof of the condition in which the car was handed over. This process has been long and tedious and the Budget staff did not take anything in their own hands, referring us immediately to their insurance company where we had to start explaining the situation from the beginning. They keep insisting that we are responsible. We have full insurance bought through easy rent cars but it is not fair that we are made responsible for something we did not do.

      Read More >
    • Mai

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: August 21, 2019

      丁寧に説明してくれました。貸出しも返却もとてもスムーズでした。 車両もキレイで快適でした。 やっぱり少し高くても空港内で完結する方が楽ですね!

      Read More >
    • R.Larpchivasit

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: September 13, 2018

      Like: New car.

      Read More >
    • P.Attanayake Mudiyanselage

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 13, 2020

      Car was in good condition and ran excellently. Easy to pickup and drop off. Staff member was friedly. Gave correct instructions to return it after hours.

      Read More >
    • N.Chugh

      Queenstown

      4.7/10 Average

      Reviewed: December 31, 2019

      Unauthorized claims received from Hertz. Have already written to the easyrent cars and Hertz

      Read More >
    • A.Braid

      Queenstown

      6.3/10 Average

      Reviewed: February 10, 2020

      The car had a odour but done the job

      Read More >
    • T.Lin

      Queenstown

      2/10 Poor

      Reviewed: July 21, 2019

      Really old car , over 200k km , many parts are missing, passenger not work well .

      Read More >
    • G.Gangwani

      Queenstown

      8.3/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: January 20, 2020

      Staff was great. The car was great which is the whole point. But pick up waiting took long. That could have been quick

      Read More >
    • H.Tokunaga

      Queenstown

      6/10 Average

      Reviewed: October 12, 2019

      The car had a issue after 30mins of pick up and I brought back to ask swap to other vehicle. at the time the didn’t have available so I went back next morning. The guy who I talk to on pick up day was good service. But next day I talk about whole story to two staff they treat us like we have no knowledge to drive a car. It looked no problem when I brought back but it definitely had problem to start the car. I explain to them but we disappeared the way they talk to us.( maybe because we are Asian female )

      Read More >
    • Rupert Paul

      Queenstown

      6/10 Average

      Reviewed: December 31, 2019

      They are undermanned. There is only one person in the whole of Queenstown who works for the car company. The person who will pick up the customer is the same person who will process the car rental. They only have one 5 seater minivan to pickup and dropoff customers. For me and my wife who rented 2 cars, we needed to leave some of our companions in the airport to get the cars first from their location 7 minutes away from the airport. During the drop-off we needed to drop-off our companions first in the airport and then brought the cars. When we dropped the car, there was someone ahead of us so he needed to bring that first group to airport first and come back for us. The only good part was the Chinese guy who is the only one doing everything was very apologetic.

      Read More >
    • S.Hwang

      Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: December 31, 2019

      It was very fast check in but to drop off, it was Christmas Day and only 1 person worked. We had to wait more than 20min outside to return the car

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      3.7/10 Poor

      Reviewed: November 30, 2019

      This rental company is a nightmare. Took them more than an hour to pick us up. Dropping off was even worse. Service staff was incompetent and completely overwhelmed.

      Read More >
    • Leonard

      Queenstown

      8/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: November 26, 2019

      Nil

      Read More >
    • L.Freire Filho

      Queenstown

      8/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: October 22, 2019

      The car that they gave me not correspond to the one that I asked. Hiunday Accent. Smaller than Corolla Yaris. Besides the car was old with severall little scrachs.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      7.3/10 Good

      Reviewed: October 18, 2019

      Car was great to get around in and we got it at a great price. Only issue was the key did not work. Had to manually use the key and I got charged an extra petrol fee after drop off even though I told the man at the counter I had filled the car until it clicked. Pickup service at the counter was average

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      9.7/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: September 6, 2019

      Fast and friendly. Very smooth process would use again.

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      8/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: July 2, 2019

      Great experience

      Read More >
    • Leeane Zhang

      Queenstown

      8/10 Very Good

      Reviewed: May 6, 2019

      When picking up the car at Queenstown Airport a closer to 9pm, we waited for 20+ minutes before being served. The counter lady is a trainee and told us that we have to find the car ourselves as she does not know which bay# the car resides. Also she could not answer some of the questions on card authorisation and insurance which leaves us quite unhappy. We finally found the car we noted that the petrol was not entirely full and it is not upon drop-off that we got told that we have to take a photo to validate such. Without any further info from the trainee, we simply infer that we need to return the car at the same petrol level to when we pick it up. So we filled up the petrol to full tank before we drive out from our final destination to Christchurch airport which took one hour and return the car as it is. During the rental we also notified Europcar that the electric uplift back door malfunction at times. Later we received an invoice from Europcar and got charged additional 86NZD on petrol which left us extremely unsatisfactory about the entire rental experience.

      Read More >
    • Vivek

      Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: June 19, 2019

      Great Car, Great Staff , Great experience , cannot say anything wrong or any flaw with the experience, will highly recommend them again,

      Read More >
    • Queenstown

      10/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: February 7, 2019

      Ease of pick up and drop off was fantastic. Car was in great condition and all for the best price!

      Read More >
    • T.Kong

      Queenstown

      9.8/10 Excellent

      Reviewed: December 25, 2017

      Like: How simple it was!
      Dislike: Nothing in particular. May be an explanation for how simple the drop off process is.

      Read More >

28 Car Rental Locations at Queenstown Airport (ZQN)

Car Rentals Near Landmarks or Places of Interest in Queenstown

  • Tourist Spot

Check out this.

Besides credit cards and debit cards, now you can pay for online car rentals with cryptocurrency in 2020. Bitcoin(BTC), ethereum(ETH), and bitcoin cash(BCH) are accepted. Wonder how long does a bitcoin transaction takes and how to pay with bitcoin? Read our FAQs.
terms of use and Privacy Policy"> terms of use and privacy policy.">